A Place of my own

For about 12 years, I had the dream of one day having my own in home studio. In Louisiana the weather can sometimes be unpredictable so it would be nice to have that alternative. There was also one point I was really interested in doing newborn photography so a studio would have been necessary for that. (Maybe one day…)

I thought got really close about 10 years ago to that dream but went through a divorce so I had to put it to the side as well as my photography. I needed incone that was consistent at the time so I worked my way up through management in Fast Food so I could have health insurance and provide for my 2 kids. I wound up having 2 more kids and getting remarried.

Even though I had put photography on the back burner I still had plans to one day come back to it. We had the flood here in 2016 and we lost everything. I lost my camera, backdrops, props, computer, equipment, etc. I also lost my sewing machine which for some time was another avenue for extra income. I was pretty much tired and felt defeated. I was ready to give up completely. I also was miserable at my job.

In 2017 my husband told me it was ok if I quit my job and convinced me to find something less stressful and he even bought me another camera to get back into photography. I took a few sessions and it took a few months for me to find my groove because it had been a few years since I actually did client photos. In 2018 I officially opened my business up (AGAIN). We bought a house that same year and planned on turning the garage into a 4th bedroom and studio. (2 rooms).

We started in 2019…my husband’s uncle helped us frame it out, put a wall up where the garage door used to be, and put siding on the outside. My husband’s father ran the electric wires for us. We then got to work putting up dry wall and mudding it. It was put on hold for many months because we were helping family take care of family members and we didn’t have the time or means to work on it. In 2020 our a.c. broke and we also had a leak in our bedroom wall so all extra money went to that. In 2021 we had the ductless a.c. installed and finished the bedroom. Last year we were able to finish painting the studio and my father in law was able to finish the electric. Then it was a waiting game until we got income tax return to finish the floors.

Earlier this year we finished the flooring and put up storage shelves. I bought some furniture for a client seating area and also some things for a backdrop system.

I am continually adding things in here until it’s the way I want it. All that’s left for now is to finish the ceiling tiles and putting in baseboards. That might have to wait until my bedroom floors are finished. I am so very grateful to my husband for pushing me to follow my dreams and help make them happen. And also to the people who came together to help us with it. I have my first event in here this weekend! šŸ™‚

https://www.tiktok.com/t/ZTdK5AHLn/?k=1

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started